The Certificate of Employment Intermediaries (CEI) in Singapore is a mandatory certification for individuals and entities engaged in the recruitment and placement of foreign workers in Singapore. Administered by the Ministry of Manpower (MOM), the CEI aims to regulate and ensure the professionalism, integrity, and competency of employment agencies and their personnel.

Obtaining the CEI involves fulfilling certain criteria and undergoing specific training programs, which cover various aspects of employment laws, regulations, and ethical practices. These programs equip individuals with the knowledge and skills necessary to navigate the intricacies of Singapore’s labor market and effectively serve both employers and foreign workers.

The CEI certification process includes modules on topics such as employment laws and regulations, employment practices, work pass application procedures, and ethical recruitment practices. Upon successful completion of the training and passing the examination, individuals are issued the CEI certification, allowing them to operate as licensed employment agents in Singapore.

For employment agencies, holding a valid CEI license is a legal requirement to conduct business in the placement of foreign workers. It serves as a mark of credibility and trustworthiness, assuring employers and foreign workers alike that the agency adheres to high standards of professionalism and compliance with regulations.

By regulating the activities of employment intermediaries through the CEI framework, Singapore aims to uphold fair employment practices, protect the rights of both employers and workers, and maintain the integrity of its labor market.

To pass the CEI test is your first step to start an Employment Agency or be an Employment Personnel in Singapore.

The test itself is a set of Mulitple Choice Questions (MCQ), which covers the following :

  • Employment Agencies Regulatory Framework (EARF)
  • Employment of Foreign Manpower Act (EFMA)
  • Contract Law (CL)
  • Competition Act (CA)
  • Employment Act (EA)
  • Work Injury Compensation Act (WICA)
  • Immigration Act (IA)
  • Central Provident Fund Act (CPFA)
  • TAFEP / Fair Consideration Framework
  • Prevention of Human Trafficking Act (PHTA)

There is no limitation on how times you can take the test. However, we do know that there are people who have take the test multiple times before they pass.

We have consulted a few of those who have taken the actual test and have come out with a set of questions here, in order to help you better prepared for the test.

You may Contact Us if you have any other queries and we will try our best to reply you as soon as possible.

Good Luck!